Illinois Soybean Association elects new farmer board members


Illinois Soybean Association elects new farmer board members

The Illinois Soybean Association elected a new slate of board members during their July meeting.

Steve Pitstick of Maple Park was re-elected as Chairman and will serve alongside Vice Chairman Ron Kindred of Atlanta, Treasurer Bryan Severs of Potomac, Secretary Tim Scates of Carmi and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Dwayne Anderson of Lynn Center.

Severs tells Brownfield his goal is to use reports to help the board determine its financial status throughout the year.

“That will make it easier for us, as board members, to understand how and where that money is going and what is available at the time if some new projects come up that we want to help with and have enough money to do so after our budgets.”

He says he has seen improvement in this area since he became a board member in 2020 because ISA staff has utilized social media to inform farmer members about check-off funded projects.

“It is easier to see as a farmer how our money is being spent and being spent wisely.”

Other executive officers include:

  • Brad Daugherty, West Union, Government Relations Committee Chair
  • Brady Holst, Plymouth, Utilization Committee Chair
  • Scott Gaffner, Greenville, Market Development Committee Chair

District directors reseated include:

  • Dwayne Anderson, Lynn Center, District 3
  • Buck Hill, Grand Ridge, District 4
  • James Martin, Pontiac, District 6
  • David Niekamp, Coatsburg, District 8
  • Jeff Parker, Belleville District 15
  • Richard Rubenacker, McLeansboro, District 18

Betsey Emerick of Vandalia and Tim Scates of Carmi will serve as at-large directors, while Stan Born of Mahomet, Rob Shaffer of El Paso, Jim Martin of Pontiac and Bill Raben of Ridgeway will serve as American Soybean Association representatives.