27 South Dakota FFA Agri-scientists advance to national competition


27 South Dakota FFA Agri-scientists advance to national competition

The National FFA Agriscience Fair will feature 27 high school students from South Dakota.

Gerri Eide, executive director of the South Dakota FFA Foundation, says the national competition is for FFA members interested in the science and technology of agriculture.

“We had 18 (teams) that were ranked top 10 in the nation and will advance and conduct an interview/presentation with their display board at the national level,” Eide said.

She tells Brownfield she’s encouraged to see such a high number of students from the state participate in the national event.

“It’s just very rewarding to see students that are that devoted,” Eide said. “Speaking as a parent of two students that have been involved in agriscience over the years – and how they’ve grown and just their understanding of the scientific process.”

Finalists will give a presentation on their project over zoom to judges and the top three in each division will be announced and recognized on stage during the National FFA Convention.

The teams from South Dakota that advanced to nationals include:

Animal Systems Category

Julianne Grady, McCook Central, Division 1

Colton Stiefvater, McCook Central, Division 3

Environmental Services/Natural Resource Systems Category

Noah Felderman, Doland, Division 1

Ty Oyen & Gage Egger, Tri-Valley, Division 2

Karlie Stiefvater, McCook Central, Division 3

Harlee Nielson & Mikael Nielson, Hitchock-Tulare, Division 4

Andrew Rick & Bennett Sebert, West Central FFA, Division 6

Food Products and Processing Systems Category

Gracie Pedersen & Clara VanDerVliet, Tri-Valley, Division 2

Plant Systems Category

Deegan Moes, Doland, Division 1

Tanner Eide, Gettysburg, Division 3

Grace DiGiovanni, McCook Central, Division 5

Power, Structural and Technical Systems Category

Zane McCormick, McCook Central, Division 1

Tucker Peterson & Gavin Kipp, McCook Central, Division 2

Brody Ahlquist & Hunter Foster, Tri-Valley, Division 4

Social Systems Category

Summer Koch, McCook Central FFA, Division 1

Kaylee Klinkhammer & Karlee Klinkhammer, McCook Central FFA, Division 2

Lauren Roling & Madison Lauck, McCook Central, Division 4

McKenna Sichmeller & Josslin Jarding, West Central, Division 6