Two Iowa Public Television programs named 2019 NETA Awards finalists

Johnston, Iowa – The National Educational Telecommunications Association (NETA) today released its list of finalists for the 2019 NETA Awards. Iowa Public Television is a finalist in two categories: Education – Educational Resources for the Classroom for Iowa Land and Sky and Education – Live Virtual Learning Events for 50th Anniversary of the Tinker Decision.

The Iowa Land and Sky project offered an entertaining and educational exploration of Iowa’s communities, natural resources and environmental challenges. IPTV production and education teams combined science lesson materials and aerial drone cinematography to create classroom resources and support Iowa teachers. The project featured breathtaking bird’s-eye perspectives, as well as beautiful close ups of the state’s landforms, rivers and towns.

In February 2019, IPTV provided live coverage of a presentation and discussion with Mary Beth and John Tinker. The 50th Anniversary of the Tinker Decision was livestreamed as part of a day-long event hosted by the State Historical Society of Iowa. Students and teachers across the globe were encouraged to participate in the discussion and submit questions using a Twitter hashtag or an online form.

“These projects provided unique opportunities to support Iowans in and out of the classroom and truly represent IPTV’s commitment to educating, informing, enriching and inspiring Iowans,” said Molly Phillips, IPTV executive director and general manager. “NETA elevates excellence in education in public television, and it’s an honor to be named alongside such incredible finalists.”

The NETA Awards are an annual recognition of public broadcasting’s finest work, a tradition established in the 1960s. NETA is a professional association representing 275 member stations in 46 states, the Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia. Each year, the NETA Awards honor public television’s best work in education, community engagement, marketing and communications and content.

Public television stations compete within their appropriate divisions based on their station size. Awards are judged by a group of expert panelists within the public media system, as well as industry professionals outside of public media. The NETA Awards Reception and Gala will take place at the 2020 NETA Conference and CPB Thought Leader Forum in Arlington, Virginia in January.