Youth council announces scholarships to local leaders

The Muscatine Area Council on Youth Leadership scholarship recipients for the Class of 2020

The Muscatine Area Council on Youth Leadership (MACYL) is proud to announce the recipients of its Class of 2020 Scholarships. MACYL is a chapter of the National Council on Youth Leadership, an organization whose mission is to recognize outstanding young people and provide them with opportunities to enhance their leadership skills and to network with each other.

The scholarships were announced at MACYL’s Annual Youth Salute Awards Ceremony on Sept. 11. The 79 high school seniors who participated in this year’s program were also introduced. The Awards Ceremony followed a day-long Leadership Seminar that was facilitated by Carole Harder, an internationally known motivational speaker.

The scholarship recipients are:

Kael Jauron, Tipton, $500

Kody Koberg, Durant, $500

Grace Longlett, Wilton, $500

Hope Reichert, Muscatine, $500

Taylor Howell, Columbus Community, $100

Laura Millage, West Liberty, $100

Addison Randall, Louisa-Muscatine, $100

Samuel Wieskamp, Muscatine, $100

Benjamin Zigament, Muscatine, $100

The four $500 scholarship recipients will attend NCYL’s Town Meeting on Tomorrow Oct. 19-23. Outstanding young leaders from NCYL Chapters across the country participate in this Leadership Conference hosted by Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri.

Now in its 19th year, MACYL has involved nearly 1,700 students in its program. It has awarded 179 scholarships totaling $49,000 and has underwritten travel and attendance costs to enable 80 MACYL representatives to participate, expense-free, in the annual TMOT.

Eight local area high schools participate in MACYL: Columbus Community, Durant, Louisa-Muscatine, Muscatine, Tipton, Wapello, West Liberty and Wilton High Schools.