The Mystery Writers of America announced the Winners of the 2017 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, and television published or produced in 2016. The Edgar Awards were given to the winners on April 27 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City.
Muscatine native Max Allan Collins was presented with the 2017 Grand Master Edgar. As MWA board member Ted Hertel said in presenting the award, Collins has excelled in various areas of the mystery writing craft, including novels, comics, film, plays, short stories and non-fiction. Among his best-known works are the graphic novel Road to Perdition, the Quarry novels, and the Nathan Heller series.
In his acceptance speech, Collins singled out three mentors, including two previous Grand Master winners, Donald E. Westlake and Mickey Spillane. His instructor at the University of Iowa’s Writers Workshop, Richard Yates, author of Revolutionary Road, was the third mentor Collins lauded.
“As gratifying as a career award like this is,” Collins said, “I am anxious to get back to Iowa and get to work on my latest book,” which he said was the new Antiques mystery in the series with his wife, Barb, writing as Barbara Allan.